IPL 2024: Favorites to Win the Orange Cap and Purple Cap

In the IPL, the most coveted individual awards are the Orange Cap and the Purple Cap. The Orange Cap is awarded to the tournament’s highest run-scorer, highlighting the batsman who has consistently excelled with the bat. 

Similarly, the Purple Cap is given to the top wicket-taker, recognizing the bowler who has made the most significant impact with his performances. 

Favorites to Win the Orange Cap and Purple Cap

These caps bring prestige and thrust players into the limelight, showcasing their talent and contributing to their cricketing careers.

Additionally, betting on these awards is a huge activity in India. Fans actively place bets on potential winners, adding excitement to the tournament. The betting frenzy highlights the popularity and competitive nature of the IPL, making the race for the Orange and Purple Caps even more thrilling for cricket fans.

Orange Cap Contenders

Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Virat Kohli, the legendary RCB batsman, continues to lead the run charts with 661 runs at a strike rate of 155.16 from 13 matches. Kohli’s consistency and ability to score under pressure make him a top contender for the Orange Cap. 

His remarkable form has seen him score one century and five fifties this season. Despite stepping down from captaincy, Kohli’s focus on his batting has paid off, making him a key player in RCB’s lineup.

🏏 Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai Super Kings)

Chennai Super Kings captain Ruturaj Gaikwad has been in sensational form, amassing 583 runs in 13 matches with a strike rate of 141.50. Gaikwad’s elegant strokeplay and ability to anchor the innings have been vital for CSK. 

His recent performances, including a century and four fifties, make him a formidable contender for the Orange Cap.

🏏 Travis Head (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Travis Head has been a revelation for Sunrisers Hyderabad, scoring 533 runs in 11 matches at a staggering strike rate of 201.89. His aggressive batting style has resulted in one century and four fifties. 

Head’s ability to score quickly and dominate the bowling attack makes him a strong candidate for the Orange Cap. His recent innings, including an 89 off just 32 balls against Delhi Capitals, highlight his explosive potential.

🏏 Riyan Parag (Rajasthan Royals)

Riyan Parag of Rajasthan Royals has quietly accumulated 531 runs in 13 matches, maintaining a strike rate 152.58. Parag’s consistent performances have been crucial for the Royals, and he remains a dark horse in the race for the Orange Cap. 

The Royals have supported him since 2019 after 4 failed seasons from him are now reaping the reward of supporting and trusting him to perform in a crunch situation. He can grab the orange cap if he plays well in the playoffs.

🏏 Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)

Sanju Samson, the captain of Rajasthan Royals, has amassed 504 runs in 13 matches at a strike rate of 156.52. Samson’s aggressive batting and ability to score quickly have been vital for the Royals. 

His five fifties this season helped him cross the 500-run mark for the first time in his IPL career. His consistency this season has earned him a World Cup sport as well. If he plays one or two big innings in the playoffs, he can be a serious contender to win the Orange Cap.

Batters Eliminated from the Orange Cap Race

Despite excellent individual performances, some players are now out of the race because their teams have not qualified for the playoffs. KL Rahul of Lucknow Super Giants scored 520 runs in 14 matches, and Sai Sudharsan of Gujarat Titans scored 527 runs in 12 matches. 

Both players have had outstanding seasons but will not be able to add to their tallies as their teams have been eliminated from playoff contention.

Fans eager to wager on who will secure the Orange Cap can place their bets on various platforms. New players can use the Parimatch welcome bonus to claim extra cash at the start and maximize their winning potential when registering with this bookmaker.

Favorites to Win the Purple Cap

The Purple Cap in IPL 2024 is a highly contested prize awarded to the tournament’s top wicket-taker. With several standout bowlers performing exceptionally well, let’s delve into the leading contenders and their chances of securing this coveted accolade.

⦿ Harshal Patel (Punjab Kings)

Harshal Patel, the seamer from Punjab Kings, leads the Purple Cap race with 22 wickets at an economy rate of 9.51. 

His consistent wicket-taking ability has been crucial for his team. Patel’s knack for striking in crucial moments and his variations in pace have made him a standout performer this season. 

⦿ Varun Chakravarthy (Kolkata Knight Riders)

KKR’s legspinner Varun Chakravarthy has been exceptional, taking 18 wickets in 12 games. Chakravarthy’s mysterious spin and ability to deceive batsmen with his variations have been key to his success. His control and consistency have made him a vital asset for KKR. 

Chakravarthy’s spin bowler partnership with Narine has been the key for KKR in middle overs and has often turned matches in his team’s favor, making him a significant threat to any batting lineup.

⦿ Yuzvendra Chahal (Rajasthan Royals)

Rajasthan Royals’ legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal, with 17 wickets, has been a key player in their bowling attack. Chahal’s experience and ability to fly the ball have often led to crucial breakthroughs for his team. 

He was Sanju Samson’s go-to option this season when the team needed a wicket. He has improved his control of his variations and consistently questions opposition batsmen. Chahal’s control in the middle overs was crucial in Rajasthan’s journey this season.

⦿ Harshit Rana (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Harshit Rana, the fast bowler from KKR, leads a pack of four bowlers with 16 wickets each. Rana’s pace and ability to extract bounce from the pitch have been significant factors in his success. 

Before the start of the season, many believed that Mitchel Starc would be the leading wicket-taker for KKR. Still, Harshit Rana took the opportunity and performed in crunch situations by taking a wicket.

⦿ Notable Mentions

Several other bowlers have also made their mark this season. Three bowlers, including Yash Thakur of LSG and Sandeep Sharma of Royals, have taken five-wicket hauls. Additionally, ten bowlers have taken four wickets in an innings, showcasing the depth of talent in the league. Among the top 20 wicket-takers, spinners like Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Sunil Narine, Varun Chakravarthy, and Piyush Chawla have stood out, proving their mettle in a predominantly fast-bowler-friendly tournament.

Eliminated Bowlers

Several bowlers who have had excellent seasons but whose teams did not qualify for the playoffs have effectively ended their chances for the Purple Cap. Jasprit Bumrah of Mumbai Indians stands out with 20 wickets and an impressive economy. Still, Mumbai has played all its games and does not qualify for the playoffs, so his campaign is over. 

Similarly, Arshdeep Singh from Punjab Kings has 17 wickets, but his chances are slim with only one match remaining and no playoff spot. Delhi Capitals’ seamers Mukesh Kumar and Khaleel Ahmed, with 17 wickets each, also find themselves in the same situation as their team did not qualify for the playoffs.

Final Words

The race for the Orange and Purple Caps in IPL 2024 is intense and exciting. The competition remains fierce, with top performers like Virat Kohli and Harshal Patel leading the charts. While some players’ chances have ended due to their teams not qualifying for the playoffs, the remaining contenders continue to battle it out. Fans can stay engaged and even place bets on potential winners, adding excitement to the tournament.

Leave a Comment